Monastery of Evangelistria - Cape Blue Suites - Achladies - Skiathos - Greece

Monastery of Evangelistria

The Monastery of Panagia Evangelistria is located about 5 km north of Skiathos Town.
Reachable by car or on foot (1 hour) from the capital of the island, this historic monastery is built on the slopes of a mountainside and it is surrounded by lush greenery, mostly pine forests and fur trees.

The Monastery of Evangelistria is among the most important religious center in the Sporades and certainly the most important in Skiathos.
Its construction began in 1794 and was completed in 1806. It was founded by the monk Nifon from Chios and the local monk Gregorios Hatzistamatis.
During the years of the Greek Revolution (in the 1820s), this monastery played an important role in giving shelter to the fighters and refugees and offering money for the economic support of the Revolution.

Here, in September 1807, the Oath of Freedom was taken by important heroes, such as Theodoros Kolokotronis, Andreas Miaoulis, and others.
At the same time, the first Greek flag was weaved and blessed, the flag with the white cross on blue background. Also, in 1839, the philosopher from Andros Theophil Kairis was restrained in this monastery. In the interior of the Monastery, visitors can see the katholicon, the chapels of Agios Ioannis and Agios Demetrios.

Moreover, an exhibition of local products and a folklore museum is housed in the premises of the old olive press. In the monastery, a small ecclesiastical museum also works exhibiting priest clothes, rare books, and manuscripts from the 17th century, gospels from the 18th century, silver and wooden crosses, Byzantine icons and other ecclesiastical items.